Sunday, May 26, 2024

24 nominations received for Hamilton East Ward

Nominations for Hamilton City Council by-election have closed, with 24 candidates putting their hand up to fill the vacant East Ward seat.

The candidates are:

  • Anna Casey-Cox
  • Ritesh Chandra
  • Roshni Desai
  • Mark Donovan
  • Jack Gielen
  • Horiana Henderson
  • Michelle Houghton
  • Peter Humphreys
  • Pirihira Kaio
  • Lisa Lewis
  • Ross Macleod
  • Riki Manarangi
  • Christopher Manson
  • Colm McKeogh
  • Jennifer Myers
  • Daniel Pascoe
  • Emma Pike
  • Naomi Pocock
  • Donna Pokere-Phillips
  • Wiremu Puke
  • Anna Smart
  • Chris Van der Aa
  • Kat Waswo
  • Ada Xiao

Voting packs will start arriving in the mail from 27 July. Voters are being urged to post their ballots by 12 August to guarantee they will arrive in time to be counted. There is no online voting.

Voting will close at midday on Wednesday 18 August.

Hamilton City Council is required to hold a by-election following the death of East Ward Councillor Margaret Forsyth in early May.

Latest Articles