Thursday, June 20, 2024

Eight candidates for Malvern board

Eight candidates have put their names forward for a place on the Malvern Community Board.

Nominations for candidates in the Malvern Community Board by-elections closed last Thursday, with three nominations received for one vacancy in the Hawkins Subdivision and five nominations received for one vacancy in the Tawera Subdivision.

Voting processes will be required in both subdivisions, with voter packs being mailed out to enrolled electors next month.

The strong turnout of candidates was a positive sign for the community, said Selwyn District Council Mayor, Sam Broughton.

“It’s encouraging to see so many people looking to get involved and represent their community. Having a good range of candidates means Malvern residents will get a good say in who represents them on the board,” said Mayor Broughton.


Hawkins Community SubdivisionNomineeNominated by
(1 Vacancies)Brian DonnellyFiona Maddison, Kevin Otton
 Rob LawrenceAndrea Barnhill, Russell Green
 John VerryMark Hunter, Robyn Tsukigawa
Tawera Community SubdivisionNomineeNominated by
(1 Vacancies)Vicky FrostDaryl Smith, Merle Smith
 Bill WoodsAlison Price, David Feary
 Michelle JohnsonRichelle Doerner-Corson, Liana Pasco
 Andrew WelshKaren Meares and Victoria Askew
 Phil FreemanChris Thwaites, Cynthia Driscoll

Latest Articles