Thursday, May 30, 2024

First hui for Youth Advisory Group

The 2023 Ministerial Youth Advisory Group (YAG) has held its first hui of the year with a positive, constructive kōrero on education issues at Parliament today.

Minister of Education, Jan Tinetti said today’s gathering is the first in a series of meetings that will take place in 2023 with the Youth Advisory Group members.

“This hui was my first engagement with the Youth Advisory Group as Education Minister,” said Ms Tinetti.

“I am impressed by the quality of thinking and their perspectives on important topics such as wellbeing, refreshing the curriculum, attendance and engagement.”

The Ministerial Youth Advisory Group has been providing advice to the Minister of Education and the Ministry of Education since 2018.

Four new members joined this year and Minister Tinetti welcomed them at the hui.

“I am excited to announce that Laila Baghdad, Mackay Thomson, Toby Mills and Hazel Rodney have joined the current eight members for the 2023 Ministerial Youth Advisory Group,” Ms Tinetti said.

The members of the 2023 Ministerial Youth Advisory Group are:

  • Laila Baghdad, Wellington (new member)
  • Toby Mills, Otago (new member)
  • Hazel Rodney, Hamilton (new member)
  • Mackay Thomson, Kāpiti (new member)
  • Eniselini Ali, Auckland
  • Tanin Cain, Auckland
  • Harshinni Nayyar, Whangārei
  • Te Atamihi Papa, Otorohanga
  • Malakai Tahaafe, Christchurch
  • Harlow Tran-Lawrence, Auckland
  • Daisy Tumataroa, Taumarunui
  • Jayden van Dyk, Hamilton

“With my current focus on attendance and reengaging learners in education, I look forward to our further meetings to hear more about their experiences and ideas to help us reshape an education system that meets their learning needs,” Minister Tinetti said.

Visit Ministerial Youth Advisory Group for more information.


Latest Articles