Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Fisheries finalists in swim for awards

Fisheries New Zealand has today announced the list of finalists for the upcoming Seafood Sustainability Awards.

The awards are an opportunity to celebrate outstanding contributions to sustainability and innovation across the seafood sector, says Fisheries New Zealand’s Deputy Director-General, Dan Bolger.

“Having a sustainable seafood sector means making sure our oceans are healthy both now and for future generations. People have always been at the heart of these efforts, and I’m pleased these awards recognise some of the excellent contributions to this important mahi,” he said.

“We’re an island nation with one of the largest oceans in the world and we go fishing for sport, enjoyment, and to get food for our whānau. Last year the Fisheries and Aquaculture sector brought $1.9 billion into New Zealand and created thousands of jobs.”

Rosemary Hurst, chair of this year’s judging panel – and recipient of the inaugural Minister for Oceans and Fisheries Award in 2020 – says it was difficult narrowing down the entries into finalists.

“The volume and quality of entries is a good reminder of the talent and dedication throughout the sector.”

“From innovative seaweed harvesters to decades-long contributions to fisheries science, to an impressive crop of future leaders – there are great people working to ensure the sustainability of our seafood sector,” she said.

Finalists for 2023:

Operational Innovator

  • Premium Seas
  • S&S Floats
  • Domjan Talijancich

Market Innovator

  • Tora Collective
  • Premium Seas
  • New Fish

Ocean Guardian

  • Scott and Sue Tindale, Tindale Marine Research
  • Dr Keith Michael (NIWA)
  • Adam Hutchinson, Fishing Rules App

Tangata Kaitiaki/ Tiaki

  • Ngaa Hapuu o Te Uru o Tainui Iwi Fisheries Forum
  • Mai-Paritu-tae-atu-ki-Turakirae Fisheries Forum
  • Mai i Ngā Kuri a Whārei ki Tihirau Fisheries Forum

Future Leader

  • Troy Bramley and Claire Edwards, Tora Collective
  • Ben Pierce, Young Fish
  • Sarah Bynevelt, Sanford

Award winners for these categories, as well as the winner of the Supreme Sustainability Award and the Minister for Oceans and Fisheries Award, will be announced at the awards ceremony at Parliament on 6 June.

Further information on New Zealand Seafood Sustainability Awards 2023.

Latest Articles