Monday, June 24, 2024

Hamilton community champions recognised

A hip hop artist, an outstanding line-up of community champions, and an organisation dedicated to helping the most vulnerable have been recognised for their positive impact on Hamilton Kirikiriroa.

Eight recipients of Hamilton City Council’s Civic Awards were celebrated at a well-attended ceremony held at the Atrium recently.

The Civic Awards recognise members of the community who have made an outstanding contribution to the city, often above and beyond normal employment.

Hamilton Mayor, Paula Southgate said she was struck by the dedication and passion each recipient had shown toward helping others.

“As mayor, I feel humbled and privileged to lead a city full of such generous people,” she said.

“And the people we honour tonight are more than volunteers, dedicated to community service. They are expert volunteers, holding an incredible kete of knowledge which they then share in our city. 

Image: Dujon Cullingford, centre, celebrates his Civic Award with family and friends. 
Dujon Cullingford, centre, celebrates his Civic Award with family and friends. 

“We honour those who know more than any of us probably ever will about things like linguistics, social cohesion, break-dancing, turban ties, plants and, sadly, family harm and domestic violence.”

The recipients were selected by the Civic Honours Committee consisting of Mayor Southgate, Councillor Ryan Hamilton, Councillor Kesh Naidoo-Rauf, Councillor Emma Pike, Councillor Melaina Huaki, and Martin Gallagher.

Along with seven individuals, Te Whakaruruhau – Waikato Women’s Refuge was recognised for its work over 30-plus years, supporting thousands of women and children suffering family harm and domestic violence. 

Civic Award recipients:

  • Shane Marwood – service to the community 
  • Jujhar (Jay) Singh Randhawa  – service to the community 
  • Mayssaa Sheikh Al Ard – service to the community 
  • Jarnail Singh – service to the community 
  • Te Whakaruruhau Waikato Women’s Refuge – service to the community
  • Liaquat Ali Changezi – service to the community
  • Dujon Cullingford – service to youth and the community
  • Paul Drage – service to the environment.

Latest Articles