Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Historic abuse advisory and design group members named

Minister for the Public Service, Andrew Little, has today named the 26 members of the design and advisory groups which will guide New Zealand’s survivor-led independent redress system for historic abuse in care.

“The main recommendation of the Royal Commission of Inquiry’s Abuse in Care interim redress report was for a survivor-led independent redress system, and the members of these groups will work closely with survivors to carry out this work,” said Minister Little.

“Following the appointment of Co-chairs Dr Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll and Ruth Jones QSM earlier this month, I have appointed 10 members to the design group and 16 members to the advisory group to develop a new independent, trauma-informed redress system to support genuine healing for people who have been abused or neglected in care.”

Design Group Co-Chairs

  • Dr Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll
  • Ruth Jones QSM

Design Group members

  • Dr Filipo Katavake-McGrath
  • Māhera Maihi
  • Tyrone Marks
  • Te Pare Meihana
  • Paora Moyle
  • Bernie O’Donnell
  • Dr Michael Roguski
  • Tupua Urlich
  • Keith Wiffin
  • Dr Steve Winter

Advisory Group members

  • Kararaina Beckett
  • David Crichton
  • Dr Alison Green
  • Joanna Ilolahia
  • Toni Jarvis
  • Bianca Johanson
  • Denise Messiter
  • Heidi Nayak
  • Sevia Nua
  • Fleur Ramsay
  • Paora Sweeney
  • Frances Tagaloa
  • Jacinda Thompson
  • Jenni Tupu
  • Emma West
  • Matthew Whiting

The Minister said the members and co-chairs bring their own experiences and key perspectives, but also provide representation for Māori, Pacific, Deaf and disabled people, rangatahi, LGBTQI+ communities, and strong representation from both state and non-state abuse survivors.

“I am confident the new members and their co-chairs will ensure the new system reflects the voices of survivors who have shared their experiences with the Royal Commission,” he said.

“Progress on improving the government’s support for survivors of abuse in care continues, including prioritising ill and elderly claimants to receive rapid payments, a new survivor experience service, and easier provision of survivor records of their time in care.”

The Royal Commission is expected to deliver its final report in March 2024.

Latest Articles