Monday, July 15, 2024

Kerr to chair WorkSafe board

Jennifer Kerr has today been announced as the new Chair of the WorkSafe New Zealand Board.

Minister of Workplace Relations and Safety, Michael Wood, announced the appointment.

“Jennifer’s appointment adds to the strong understanding of health and safety knowledge on the WorkSafe New Zealand Board and I look forward to the work the Board will do under her guidance in strengthening health and safety practices here in New Zealand,” Mr Wood said.

Ms Kerr (pictured) is a professional director with extensive health and safety knowledge and experience, developed over a long and distinguished career, he said.

She is the current Chair of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, Deputy Chair of Callaghan Innovation, a member of the New Zealand Police Assurance and Risk Committee and sits as director on a number of other boards.

She replaces outgoing Chair James (Ross) Wilson and her appointment is made for a term of three years, to take effect on 17 October.

Minister Wood acknowledged Ross Wilson who has been Chair of WorkSafe since 2018 and served previously as a Member and Deputy Chair.

“His deep understanding of, and appreciation for, the importance of health and safety has been of paramount importance to the Board and supporting the organisation to improve the Health, Safety and Wellbeing of New Zealanders,” Mr Wood said.

Latest Articles