Tuesday, June 18, 2024

New Hastings councillors sworn in

The two new Hastings district councillors elected in the Heretaunga and Takitimu Māori ward by-elections were officially sworn in yesterday.

Voting for the by-elections to fill the vacancies left by former Heretaunga ward councillor Ann Redstone and former Takitimu Māori ward councillor Renata Nepe opened on May 2, and closed on Friday, May 24.

The successful candidates Heather Te Au-Skipworth (Takitimu) and Hana Montaperto-Hendry (Heretaunga) were welcomed at the Hastings District Council chambers yesterday and made their formal declarations as new councillors.

Latest Articles