Sunday, May 26, 2024

New Law Commission trio named

Justice Minister, Kris Faafoi, has announced the appointment of three new members of Te Aka Matua o te Ture | Law Commission.

The new appointees are:

  • Hon Justice Christian Whata, who has been appointed for a term of one year; beginning on 12 October 2021.
  • Geof Shirtcliffe, who has been appointed for five years; beginning on 6 September 2021.
  • Professor Claudia Geiringer, who will take up her appointment on 2 May 2022.

The Law Commission is an independent Crown entity, whose role includes reviewing New Zealand law and making recommendations for its development and reform.

Justice Christian Whata.

Minister Faafoi said Justice Whata, Mr Shirtcliffe, and Professor Geiringer all had outstanding legal credentials.

“I am delighted they have accepted appointment to the Law Commission. They all bring complementary skills, which will add to the strength for the Commission,” Mr Faafoi said.

The Minister also acknowledged the service and commitment to the Commission of outgoing Law Commissioner, Associate Professor Donna Buckingham.

“In particular, I want to note Associate Professor Buckingham’s work reviewing the law which governs how DNA is used in criminal investigations and her contribution working with the Ministry of Justice on search and surveillance law,” he said.

Latest Articles