Wednesday, May 22, 2024

New statutory Police Deputy Commissioners appointed

Police Commissioner Andrew Coster has welcomed the appointments of Tania Kura and Jevon McSkimming as new statutory Deputy Commissioners.

The appointments were confirmed last night. Both officers already hold deputy commissioner rank as internal appointments.

The Commissioner said the statutory deputy role was an important one within Police’s constitutional framework. It includes a safeguard for the independence of the office holders. If the Commissioner is incapacitated, one of the statutory deputies will assume office, until an acting commissioner is formally appointed.

“I want to congratulate both Jevon and Tania on their respective appointments to this important role. They both have wide ranging and complementary policing experience and expertise, and have been instrumental leaders on the Police Executive for the past three years,” says Commissioner Coster.

“Both Deputies lead by example and bring a positive culture to Police that enables our people to perform, and I look forward to their continued service to help prevent crime and harm in our communities.”

Deputy Commissioner Wally Haumaha’s statutory term ends on 2 June 2023. To provide continuity to the Iwi and Community portfolio and ensure his successor receives a thorough handover and induction, Deputy Commissioner Haumaha will remain in a non-statutory Deputy Commissioner capacity until the end of the year, the Commissioner confirmed.

The Governor-General appoints the statutory deputy on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. The Public Services Commissioner manages the appointment process.

Latest Articles