Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Oranga Tamariki board trio named

Three additional members have been appointed to the Oranga Tamariki Ministerial Advisory Board to provide representation for the youth, disability and Pasifika communities.

The Board, initially set up in January, provides independent advice and assurance to the Minister for Children as work begins to reset the organisation.

“Today I am pleased to welcome new members Dr Ruth Jones, Mana Williams-Eade and Alfred Filipaina to the Board,” Children’s Minister, Kelvin Davis said.

Mana Williams-Eade.
Auckland councillor, Alfred Filipaina.

“They join Board Chair Matthew Tukaki, Dame Naida Glavish, Sir Mark Solomon and Shannon Pakura and will work alongside Oranga Tamariki to change our child care and protection system.”

Dr Jones (pictured, main photo) has worked in the disability sector for more than 20 years both as a practitioner and a manager. Mana Williams-Eade is the current co-chair of VOYCE Whakarongo Mai and has care experience, while Alfred Filipaina was a community constable for 33 years and is a respected Auckland City Councillor for the Manukau Ward.

A new action plan to implement the Board’s initial recommendations has been put in place and work is well underway in talking to communities about how they see the future of child protection, the Minister said.

“We know the system is broken and we are going to fix it.”

“I firmly believe the answer lies in Oranga Tamariki taking a back seat and working in true partnership with communities who know best for their young people,” Mr Davis said.

Latest Articles