Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Public sector chiefs named on Climate Change Board

Six public sector chief executives have been confirmed as the initial members of an interdepartmental executive board to provide oversight of the Government’s response to climate change. 

The Climate Change Chief Executives Board will coordinate efforts across the economy and society to drive climate change delivery.  

Secretary for the Environment, Vicky Robertson, has been named as Chairperson of the Board.

Ms Robertson said the Board will champion a just transition “by ensuring a strong focus on the costs, benefits and impacts of policies relating to climate change.” 

New Board members joining her include leaders from the Treasury, Department of Conservation, Ministry for Primary Industries, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and the Ministry of Transport. 

Ms Robertson noted the publication of the first emissions reduction plan and national adaptation plan require more formalised governance and accountability arrangements to ensure their effective delivery.  

“Improving coordination on cross-government climate issues, and working efficiently with the business sector, are important components of this board’s remit,” she said.

Board members include:  

  • Vicky Robertson – Te Hēkeretari mō te Taiao – Secretary for the Environment;
  • Caralee McLiesh – Te Hēkeretari mō Te Tai Ōhanga – Secretary to the Treasury; 
  • Penny Nelson – Te Tumu Whakarae mō Te Papa Atawhai – Director-General of Conservation;
  • Ray Smith – Te Tumu Whakarae mō Manatū Ahu Matua – Director-General of Primary Industries;
  • Carolyn Tremain – Te Hēkeretari mō Hīkina Whakatutuki – Secretary for Business, Innovation and Employment; 
  • Bryn Gandy – Te Hēkeretari mō Te Manatū Waka – Acting Secretary for Transport.
Caralee McLiesh.

Aaron Martin, Deputy Solicitor-General, has been appointed as an independent adviser to help the Board manage the legal risks associated with the climate change work programme. 

Members of the Board will be jointly responsible to the Prime Minister and will also advise the Climate Response Ministers Group. 

Latest Articles