Sunday, November 28, 2021

Public Sector to build on 5-star rating

All new non-residential government buildings will be climate friendly as part of the Government’s plans for a carbon neutral public sector by 2025, Economic and Regional Development Minister Stuart Nash and Climate Change Minister James Shaw announced today.

From April 2022, agencies covered by the Carbon Neutral Government Programme will need to ensure new buildings over a certain value meet a minimum Green Star rating of five.

“Our Government has committed to achieving carbon neutrality in the public sector within five years. Today’s announcement takes us a step closer towards delivering on that promise,” the Ministers said.

“These minimum standards will ensure Government buildings achieve a level of excellence in climate-friendly design and construction that is rarely seen in New Zealand. Leading by example in this way will create job opportunities in the low carbon building sector and expand the market for more commercial buildings to also achieve higher environmental standards.

“Buildings are big emitters, but the solution to this – such as improved design, better waste management, improved water and energy efficiency, and the use of low carbon materials – is achievable. Cleaner, climate-friendly public buildings are not just good for the planet, they will also improve the health and wellbeing of the people who visit, work and learn inside them.

“Introducing these standards builds on the work we have done to support schools, tertiary institutions, hospitals, and other government agencies to replace fossil fuel boilers with cleaner alternatives and improve the efficiency of their buildings.”

The Green Star standard operates on a system of 100 points, with 4 star, 5 star or 6 star ratings available.

“The minimum 5 star rating will apply to new non-residential buildings for around 140 government agencies who follow the Government Procurement Rules,” said Minister Nash.

“From 1 April 2022, government agencies must achieve a minimum 5 star rating for new non-residential buildings with a capital value of $25 million or more.

“From 1 April 2023 when constructing a new non-residential building with a capital value of $9 million and over, agencies will be required to achieve a minimum 5 star rating for projects.

“This particular Green Star system is administered by the NZ Green Building Council and is adapted to suit a New Zealand context, such as earthquake resilience.

“More sustainable building systems will help government agencies plan to reduce carbon emissions. The decision also sends an important signal to the construction, design and building supplies sector to expand capacity and capability to meet demand,” Mr Nash said.

Latest Articles

Australian troops deployed to Solomon Islands

Australian Prime Minister, Scott Morrison, has called for calm as the nation deploys Australian Defence Force (ADF) and Australian Federal Police (AFP)...

NZ “deeply concerned” by Solomon Islands protests

Acting Foreign Affairs Minister, David Parker says New Zealand is deeply concerned by the events which have been unfolding in Honiara, Solomon...

Skinks fly home to Hokitika

One hundred special skinks now have a safe new home with the establishment of the Department of Conservation’s (DOC) predator free Kapitia Scientific...

Commissioner welcomes vaccination order

Police Commissioner Andrew Coster has welcomed today's announcement that all Police constabulary staff, authorised officers and recruits will be required to be...

Vaccines mandatory for Police, Defence

Workplace COVID-19 vaccination requirements will be extended to include the New Zealand Police and Defence Force in preparation for the transition to...