Saturday, April 20, 2024

Science Board appointments

The Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) has confirmed new appointments to the Science Board.

The Science Board is responsible for making independent investment decisions for the Endeavour Fund and the National Science Challenges.

“I am pleased to confirm the appointments of 5 new members of the Science Board, along with the reappointment of a current Board member for a second term,” said General Manager Science System Investment and Performance, Dr Prue Williams.

“I congratulate each of the members on their appointment. Their skills and experience will make an important contribution to enhancing science in Aotearoa New Zealand.”

The new appointees are:

  • Professor Charles Eason
  • Ms Kirikowhai Mikaere
  • Professor Nicholas (Nick) Long
  • Dr Laura Domigan
  • Dr Sereana Naepi

Dr Liz Wedderburn has been appointed for a second term.

Each member is appointed for a three-year term. The Minister of Research, Science and Innovation is responsible for the appointment of the Board’s Chair and members.

The terms of former Board members Professor Parry Guilford, Dr Jill Vintiner, Professor David Wratt and Dr Andrew McLeod have come to an end.

“I thank each of the outgoing Board members for their service as a Science Board member. They have made a valuable contribution to the science system and I wish them well for the future,” Dr Williams says.

Find out more about the Science Board, including the biographies of the appointees:

Our Science Board

Latest Articles