Thursday, July 18, 2024

Southgate returned as Hamilton Mayor

Paula Southgate will return to the helm as Mayor of Hamilton Kirikiriroa, re-elected with 15,880 votes, ahead of first-time contender Geoff Taylor with 14,043, Hamilton City Council has confirmed.

With special votes now included, the final results show no change to the provisionally elected councillors:

East Ward

  • Ryan Hamilton
  • Anna Casey-Cox
  • Maxine van Oosten
  • Mark Donovan
  • Kesh Naidoo-Rauf
  • Andrew Bydder

West Ward

  • Geoff Taylor
  • Angela O’Leary
  • Ewan Wilson
  • Sarah Thomson
  • Emma Pike
  • Louise Hutt

Kirikiriroa Maaori Ward

  • Moko Tauariki
  • Melaina Huaki

In Waikato, Ms Southgate was the only Mayor re-elected and has four new female leaders join her across the region.  

All previous Ward Councillors were also re-elected and are joined by six new faces around the table. The total mix includes nine women and six men.  

With all voting documents counted, Hamilton’s vote count is 29.4%.  

Latest Articles