Thursday, July 18, 2024

Still time to enter Northland environmental awards

There’s still time to enter the fifth annual Northland Regional Council Whakamānawa ā Taiao – Environmental Awards.

The awards recognise individuals, groups and organisations who are helping to protect and improve Northland’s environment.

People can nominate themselves or others in up to two of the awards’ nine categories. Entries close Sunday 18 June.

The nine categories are:

  • Environmental action in the community
  • Environmental action to protect native life (Previously ‘Environmental action in pest management’)
  • Environmental action in education
  • Environmental action in water quality improvement
  • Environmental action in industry
  • Environmental leadership
  • Youth environmental leader
  • Environmental action to address climate change
  • Kaitiakitanga

Category winners will receive a prize package of $1,000 cash, a handcrafted trophy designed by local artist, and a professional project promotional video and photography package.

The awards’ highest recognition is the ‘Te Tohu Matua – Supreme Award’ which all category winners are eligible for.

This year also sees the return of the Kiwi Coast Award for Outstanding Group or Project. The award recognises high achieving Northland groups and projects that have proven their commitment to restoring the health of their local native forests and wildlife, including kiwi.

The winner of the Kiwi Coast award will take home a $500 cash prize and trophy crafted by a Northland designer.

More information about the awards is available from

Latest Articles