Monday, May 27, 2024

Treaty advisory board members named

The members of a new advisory board to help ensure existing Treaty settlements are upheld under New Zealand’s new resource management system were named today.

“The Government is committed to upholding Treaty settlements that intersect with the Resource Management Act as we move to a new system, and we are working with settled groups to ensure their agreements are upheld,” said Environment Minister, David Parker.

“The Ministerial Advisory Board will play an important role in that process, helping identify and address emerging themes, issues or challenges.”

The Government has committed to repealing and replacing the Resource Management Act with the Natural and Built Environments Act, the Spatial Planning Act and the Climate Adaptation Act.

Mr Parker said the Acts will work together to deliver a resource management system that protects and restores the environment, better enables development, and gives effect to the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi. 

He said the Ministerial Advisory Board members have been selected for their expertise in Te Tiriti o Waitangi, and understanding of resource management and its importance for Māori.

“In doing so, we hope to provide iwi and hapū with trust and confidence that the Government will fulfil its Treaty obligations and that the process taken to uphold Treaty settlements is robust and conducted in good faith,” the Minister said.

The members of the Ministerial Advisory Board are:

  • Karen Vercoe (MNZM), Te Arawa, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Raukawa
  • Lisa Tumahai, Ngāi Tahu, Tainui
  • Andrew (Anaru) Luke, Ngāti Rārua, Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Rangitāne ki Wairau, Te Ātiawa, Ngāti Maniapoto/Kinohaku
  • Maui Solomon, Moriori, Ngāi Tahu.   

“The Board will not advise on individual Treaty settlements or speak on behalf of post-settlement governance entities (PSGEs), and will continue to work directly with PSGE chairs,” Mr Parker said.

Latest Articles