Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Waikato honours high-achieving alumni

A Supreme Court judge, Māori business leaders and professional directors have been recognised by the University of Waikato for their contributions to community.

Jennifer Kerr, Hinerangi Raumati MNZM, Justice Leilani Tuala-Warren and Jamie Tuuta have received Distinguished Alumni Awards from the University, recognising their significant achievements and contributions made to their communities.

University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley said this year’s awardees have successful careers in areas including Māori leadership, governance, criminal justice advocacy and law including constitutional law efforts in Samoa.

Professor Quigley says the University is proud of this year’s awardees and their outstanding achievements on the international and domestic stage.

“Each awardee is a role model for students and fellow Waikato alumni,” he said.

The awardees have shown a commitment to their various communities by reforming the judicial system in Samoa, leading treaty negotiations for iwi, advocating for criminal justice and mentoring young leaders, all while creating opportunities for their communities to thrive, Professor Quigley said.

Since the inaugural awards in 2007, the University has recognised 50 alumni.

Current law student Tatiana Warren (on behalf of her Mother Leilani Tuala-Warren), Hinerangi Raumati MNZM, Jennifer Kerr, Jamie Tuuta.

Latest Articles