Thursday, April 25, 2024

Whakatāne council announces Murupara board appointments

The Murupara Community Board has welcomed two new members after they were elected unopposed in a recent by-election.

Memory Edmonds and Sheena Jones were nominated for the two vacancies and therefore, no voting process was required, Whakatāne District Council said in a statement.

Murupara Community Board Chair, Mere McLean says the Board was thrilled with the appointments.

“Our vision is to empower and actively strengthen communities, which we do through a variety of ways including distributing funds, supporting local initiatives and getting involved in community projects,” she said.

“Both Memory and Sheena bring a wealth of skills, knowledge and connections to the Board, and we’re grateful for their time and expertise.”

Although relatively new to the area, Sheena Jones says she is eager to get involved with the community and advocate for positive change.

“I am committed to making a real difference for the Murupara community, particularly creating opportunities to make it an attractive place to live, work and play,” she said.

“One of my strengths is communication, so I’ll put that to good use in this role.”

Memory Edmonds was born and raised in Murupara and is currently employed at Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Manawa. She says that being on the community board will mean she can actively and effectively contribute to the community’s development and growth. 

“Kia mau ki te tokanga nui-a-noho, which translates to ‘there is no place like home’,” Ms Edmonds says.

“I’ve always held a deep affection for my hometown, and I’m committed prioritising transparency and inclusivity in our decision-making. Everything I do will have the best interests of our community at the forefront.”

The Murupara Community Board covers the Te Urewera General Ward and the Toi ki Uta and Rangitāiki Māori Wards areas and includes the Waiohau, Galatea, Murupara, Te Whaiti, Minginui and Ruatāhuna communities.

Latest Articles