Saturday, July 20, 2024

Māori Health Authority appoints steering board

The Māori Health Authority has appointed a Steering Group who will work with Māori to identify candidates for the interim board, the Minister of Health, Andrew Little and Associate Minister of Health, Peeni Henare announced today.

The Steering Group will provide advice to the Transition Unit in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet on governance arrangements and initial appointments to an interim board.

The members were chosen by Sir Mason Durie (pictured) given their knowledge, background and mana across Māori health, Whānau Ora, iwi leadership and governance roles.

The Steering Group members are:

  • Dr Matire Harwood
  • Parekawhia McLean
  • Tā Mark Solomon
  • Rāhui Papa
  • Kim Ngārimu
  • Amohaere Houkamau
  • Lisa Tumahai

“Tā Mason has assembled a strong group of Māori leaders to begin this important process,” Minister Little said.

“I am confident that their leadership, experience and perspectives will enable access to the network of talent within Māoridom and allow them to identify a high-performing group of candidates to provide governance leadership to the interim Māori Health Authority.

“This approach is a marker of the future health system I am seeking – that we move forward in a true partnership approach with Māori.”

Minister Henare said the Māori Health Authority was about enabling Māori to exercise meaningful leadership and control over their hauora.

“I have no doubt that the considerable collective experience and connections of this group will allow them to determine the ideal mix of rangatira Māori to steer the interim Māori Health Authority forward, including its establishment and how it exercises rangatiratanga within the wider health system. It is exciting to move to this next stage of the process,” the Minister said.

This Steering Group, who met for the first time last week, will decide on their engagement process and reach out to iwi and the Māori sector on:

  • identifying candidates for the interim Māori Health Authority board;
  • supporting Ministers in appointing that board with a mandate from Māori;
  • providing advice on appropriate options for governance and accountability arrangements for the Māori Health Authority.

The term of the Steering Group will run from May to July 2021.

“The process is that the Steering Group will identify candidates to govern the interim Māori Health Authority. This shortlist of names will then go to Cabinet and, following agreement of the identified candidates, I hope to confirm appointments to the interim board by 1 September,” Peeni Henare said.

About the Steering Group members:

Tā Mason Durie (chair)

Tā Mason Durie (Rangitāne, Ngāti Kauwhata, Ngāti Raukawa) has spent more than 40 years at the forefront of a transformational approach to Māori Health. He is Emeritus Professor of Māori Research & Development at Massey University. His work has included roles on the Mental Health Foundation, Chair of the Standing Committee on Māori Health, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand, the Māori Advisory Committee for the Law Commission, Commissioner on The Families Commission, and Chair of the Core Health Services Committee among others. In 2020, he was appointed to the Order of New Zealand.

Dr Matire Harwood

Dr Matire Harwood (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Rangi, Te Mahurehure, Ngāti Hine) is Associate Professor in the Department of General Practice and Primary Care, University of Auckland.  She is also a GP at the Papakura Marae Health Clinic. Ms Harwood is Editor of the Māori Health Research Review and Co-Chair for the Antimicrobial Resistance Science Group, for the Office of the Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor.  Previous health governance roles include board member for the Waitematā DHB and board member of the Health Research Council. 

Parekawhia McLean

Parekawhia McLean (Ngāti Mahanga-Hourua, Waikato, Ngāti Maniapoto) was appointed late last year as the Chief Executive for Te Kāhui Tātari Ture / Criminal Cases Review Commission. Prior to that, Ms McLean held the role of the Director of Strategy and Infrastructure at Counties Manukau District Health Board. Her previous roles include Chief Executive of Waikato-Tainui and Central North Island Regional Director for the New Zealand Transport Agency, and she has considerable experience in establishing governance arrangements, including with Māori TV. Ms Mclean is also the Chair of Te Whakakitenga o Waikato, the overarching tribal governance body for Waikato-Tainui.

Tā Mark Solomon

Tā Mark Solomon (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kurī) is the Chair of Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu, the Whānau Ora commissioning agency for the South Island. Tā Mark was the elected Kaiwhakahaere (Chair) of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu from 1998 to December 2016 and represented his local Papatipu Rūnanga, Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura from 1995 to December 2016. In 2013, he was recognised as Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Māori and Business. He was previously deputy Chair of Canterbury District Health Board, and is also founding Chairman of the Māori Carbon Collective.

Rahui Papa

Rahui Papa (Ngāti Korokī-Kahukura, Waikato-Tainui) is an orator, spokesperson, and recognised authority on Waikato reo and tikanga. Mr Papa has a background in broadcasting and education and has served on the Waikato-Tainui Governance Group since its inception. He is the negotiator for Waikato-Tainui’s outstanding Treaty claims, having previously chaired the Waikato Tainui Executive, Te Arataura, and served as a director and member of various holdings companies, ministerial committees, and national and local boards. Mr Papa is also on the Iwi Leaders’ Forum, providing advice to Ministers and Crown officials.

Kim Ngārimu

Kim Ngārimu (Te Aitanga ā Mate, Ngāti Porou) is Chair of Tairāwhiti District Health Board (Hauora Tairāwhiti) and has been Deputy Chair of the Institute of Skills and Technology Establishment Board since August 2019. Ms Ngārimu is a director of Tāua Limited, a consultancy specialising in public policy and management advice. Previously Ms Ngārimu held a range of senior public sector roles in Wellington. She is a member of the Medical Council of New Zealand and the Waitangi Tribunal, and a council-appointed member of the Eastern Institute of Technology since 2017.

Amohaere Houkamau

Amohaere Houkamau (Ngati Porou, with affiliations to Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāti Mutunga ki Taranaki) is currently the General Manager of Rongowhakaata Trust. Her governance experience includes the Lotteries Commission, Māori Television Board and Tairawhiti Development Partnership. She has sat on a Ministerial Advisory Committee on Housing and has been a member of the Local Government Association Advisory Group on effective engagement with Iwi/Māori.  Ms Houkamau also held the role of CEO of Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Porou previously.

Lisa Tumahai

Lisa Tumahai (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Waewae, Makaawhio) is Kaiwhakahaere (chair) of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu representative for Ngāti Waewae Rūnanga. She has been a member of the Te Rūnanga board since 2001 and has held the position of Kaiwhakahaere since April 2016. She is also a Director of Te Ara Pounamu Limited and has been Deputy Chair of the Climate Change Commission since 2019.

Latest Articles